Maryland

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Carriep
      Participant

I’m just getting started on my investigation into starting a foot care business for performing foot care in the clients home. I’ve not been able to locate any references to Foot care in my state practice at, BON, or Dept. of Health.  Can someone guide me on where to look, if Maryland allows nurses to perform do I need to obtain any permit or authorization from the state to perform these services, and do I need to have oversight from a podiatrist? Or, do I just set up my LLC AND START ADVERTISING ONCE I GET MY CERT AND COMPLETE?? It’s frustrating how unclear all of this is.

Carrie,

Welcome to our wonderful family of FCNs (Foot Care Nurses).  Here are a couple of suggestions for issues raised in your post.

1.  Look in the Members Directory for other FCNs in Maryland.  I see 4 nurses in private foot care practice in Maryland.  I’m sure they will be glad to take you “under their wings”!  There are plenty of feet to work on in Maryland.  No competition needed (or allowed!!)
      2. I haven’t looked at the Maryland BON specifically, most nursing boards have a general statement in their Scope of Practice Statements.  They don’t specifically address foot care.  (Although some do now).  Most have a general statement something like this:  “To determine if a skill is within the scope of practice it must: a) not be surgery; b) must have been taught in the original nursing training; c) or the nurse can document specialized training to perform the tasks/procedures.”  So think about PICC lines.  Working with PICC lines isn’t taught in school. But if you have taken special classes to become safe and proficient, it is then in your cope of practice.